Professors Sarah Gaffen and Vijay Kuchroo are being jointly recognized for the ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award for their combined contributions deciphering the role of a key cytokine IL-17 in health and disease.

[tmm name=”2020-biolegend-william-e-paul-award-for-excellence-in-cytokine-research-2″]

Drs. Gaffen and Kuchroo will be presented their 2020 BioLegend William E. Paul Awards at Cytokines 2020, to be held 1-4 November, 2020 at the Hyatt Regency Seattle, in Seattle, USA and will each give a talk during the meeting.

Past winners of the ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul award are as follows:

  • 2016 – Richard M. Locksley, MD, Director of the Sandler Asthma Basic Research Center (SABRE) and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, University of California, San Francisco
  • 2017 – Alan Sher, PhD, Chief, Laboratory of Parasitic Diseases, NIAID, Bethesda, USA
  • 2018 – Giorgio Trinchieri, MD, NIH, National Cancer Institute, Program Director, Cancer and Inflammation Program, NIH Distinguished Investigator, Head, Cancer Immunobiology Section
  • 2019 – Chen Dong, PhD, Professor and Director of the Institute for Immunology and Dean of the School of Medicine, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China

The ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award represents the pinnacle of scientific achievement in cytokine research. The William E. Paul Award is bestowed upon a leading biomedical research scientist who has made outstanding contributions to cytokine research, either in a basic or applied field as demonstrated by publications, oral presentations and consistent scientific advancements in cytokine biology throughout their career, through the generosity of BioLegend. The awardee is selected by the ICIS Awards Committee based on nominations received from the international scientific community. The selection is based on strength and consistency throughout their career of cytokine research publications in peer reviewed journals, contributions to cytokine biology through the publication of reviews and book chapters, long term evidence of presenting their work on cytokine biology to the international community in oral presentations and leadership in the field as demonstrated by organization of cytokine biology meetings and chairing of sessions focused on cytokine biology at national/international meetings.

ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award Laureates from 2016 to present:

Richard Locksley, 2016 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Alan Sher, 2017 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Giorgio Trinchieri, 2018 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Chen Dong, 2019 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Session Chairs Weiping Jiang (L) and John O’Shea (R), awarding the 1st ICIS-BIOLEGEND BILL PAUL AWARD to Richard Locksley, UCSF, after his lecture, “New pathways in type 2 immunity” on Tuesday, 18 October, 2016.
From Left: Michelle Tate, Award winner, Alan Sher & Weiping Jiang from BioLegend. Awards Presentation at Cytokines 2017 in Kanazawa, Japan.
Dr. Trinchieri (middle) receives the 2018 BioLegend William E. Paul Award Crystal from ICIS Awards Committee Co-chairs Bryan Williams and Kate Fitzgerald. Cytokines 2018 Awards Presentation.
From Left: Bryan Williams, 2019 ICIS William E. Paul BioLegend Award winner, Chen Dong, Jie Zhou from BioLegend & Kate Fitzgerald. Awards Presentation at Cytokines 2019 in Vienna, Austria.