Honorary Lifetime Member Award

Honorary Lifetime Membership has been awarded to the following individuals who have made substantive contributions to the cytokine/chemokine/interferon field over much of their careers, either in basic, clinical or applied research. Honorary members are esteemed members of the Society and provide us with an historical perspective and valued research tradition.

ICIS 2020 Honorary Lifetime Membership Award bestowed on Anne O’Garra

Anne O’Garra is honored with the ICIS 2020 Honorary Lifetime Membership Awards as a tribute to her seminal and original contributions to our understanding of the role of cytokines in immunobiology and active engagement in cytokine research.

Anne O’Garra obtained her PhD in microbiology and undertook a Postdoctoral Fellowship in immunology at the Medical Research Council National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR; now part of the Francis Crick Institute) in London. At the DNAX Research Institute, California, USA (1987-2001), as an independent group leader, she defined functions and mechanisms for cytokines in the immune response, for which she was named 2nd of Highly Cited Authors in Immunology, 1992-2002 (ISI Science Indicators).

Anne O’Garra, FRS, FMedSci Senior Group Leader, Laboratory of Immunoregulation & Infection The Francis Crick Institute, London, England

Anne returned to the UK in 2001 to form the Division of Immunoregulation at NIMR, to interface research in immunology and infectious diseases. Anne continues research on the role and function of cytokines in the immune response and how key cytokines are regulated at the transcriptional level. Her group now also study the immune response in tuberculosis in mouse models and human disease. Anne stepped down from her position as Associate Research Director at the Francis Crick Institute in June 2019, remaining as Senior Group Leader to focus on her lab’s research on cytokines and the immune response in tuberculosis.

In addition to being a Fellow of the Royal Society, Anne was also elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and as a Member of EMBO, the European Molecular Biology Organization and is member of a number of Scientific Advisory Boards, including the Keystone Conferences and an Editor of the Journal of Experimental Medicine. As an advocate of Women-In-Science O’Garra chaired the Athena Swan Institute Pilot Bronze award for the NIMR.

She was co-chair of Cytokines 2018, 6th Annual Meeting of the International Cytokine & Interferon Society in Boston, Scientific Advisory Board and invited lecturer at Cytokines 2019 and is an ICIS Council Member.

*Anne O’Garra is also Professor of Infection Immunology, NHLI, Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College, London

Kouji Matsushima awarded the 2019 Honorary Lifetime Membership Award at Cytokines 2019 in Vienna
William Fleischmann awarded the 2018 Honorary Lifetime Membership Award at Cytokines 2018 in Boston
Ganes Sen awarded the 2017 Honorary Lifetime Membership Award at Cytokines 2017 in Kanazawa
Howard Young awarded the 2016 Honorary Lifetime Membership Award at Cytokines 2016 in San Francisco

Samuel Baron, Galveston, US (deceased)

Gerhard Bodo, Vienna, AT (deceased)

Derek Burke, Norwich-Norfolk, GB (deceased)

Kari Cantell, Helsinki, FI

Anthony Cerami, Tarrytown, US

Charles Chany, Paris, FR (deceased)

Alain de Weck, Bern, Switzerland (deceased)

Ferdinando Dianzani, Rome, IT (deceased)

Charles Dinarello, Aurora, US

Lois Epstein, Tiburon, US

Karl Fantes, Surrey  England, GB

Marc Feldmann, London, GB

Walter Fiers, Ghent, BE (deceased)

Norman Finter, Ludlow-Shropshire, GB (deceased)

Eleanor Fish, Toronto, CA

William Robert Fleischmann, Austin, US

Robert Friedman, Bethesda, US

George Galasso, Silver Spring, US

Laurie Glimcher, Boston, US

David Goeddel, San Francisco, US

Ion Gresser, Paris, FR (deceased)

Sidney Grossberg, Milwaukee, US

Otto Haller, Freiburg, DE

Gertrude Henle, Newton Square, US (deceased)

Ara Hovanessian, Paris, FR

Wolfgang Joklik, Durham, US (deceased)

Yoshimi Kawade, Sakyo-ku Kyoto, JP

Ian Kerr, London, GB

Tadamitsu Kishimoto, Osaka, JP

Ernest Knight, Jr., Kittery, US (deceased)

Peter Lengyel, New Haven, US

Warren Leonard, Bethesda, US

Jean Lindenmann, Zurich, CH (deceased)

Philip Marcus, Storrs, US (deceased)

Kouji Matsushima, Tokyo, JP

Thomas Merigan, Portola Valley, US

Donald Metcalf, Parkville, AU (deceased)

Yasuiti Nagano, Okayama 700, JP (deceased)

Anne O’Garra, London, US

Joost Oppenheim, Frederick, US

Keiko Ozato, Bethesda, US

William E. Paul, Bethesda, US (deceased)

Sidney Pestka, Piscataway, US (deceased)

Paula Pitha-Rowe, Baltimore, US (deceased)

Amanda Proudfoot, Geneva, CH (deceased)

Michel Revel, Rehovot, IL

Nancy Ruddle, New Haven, US

Leo Sachs, Rehovot, IL (deceased)

Charles Samuel, Santa Barbara, US

Ganes Sen, Cleveland, US

George Stark, Cleveland, US

Tadatsugu Taniguchi, Tokyo, JP

Michael Tovey, Villejuif, FR

Giorgio Trinchieri, Frederick, US

David Tyrrell, Whiteparish, GB (deceased)

Jan Vilcek, New York, US

Byron Waksman, Lexington, US (deceased)

Thomas Waldmann, Bethesda, US

Charles Weissmann, Jupiter, US

Frederick Wheelock, Philadelphia, US

Howard Young, Frederick, US

Julius Youngner, Pittsburgh, US (deceased)

Kathryn Zoon, Bethesda, US