Dr. Christina Fleischmann (1945 - 1996)

This award is made possible through the generosity of the Fleischmann Family and is dedicated to the memory of ISICR member and outstanding interferon research scientist Christina Fleischmann. The award was established in early 1998, with the first award presented to Xiaoxia Li, Ph.D., who’s now the Paul L. Fox, PhD, Endowed Chair in Molecular Medicine at the Lerner Research Institute, Cleveland, USA, at the joint ISICR/ICS meeting in Jerusalem. She went on to win the Milstein Award in 2013.

In the words of then President of ISICR, Bryan Williams, “Our Society benefits from the active participation from many fine women scientists. Therefore it is with pleasure that I announce the establishment of a new award to recognize and promote young women scientists. The Christina Fleischmann Young Investigator Award has been established by Bob Fleischman in memory of Christina, an active participant in our society for many years until her recent untimely death. It is Bob’s hope that the establishment of this award will lead others to consider donating awards to the Society.”

This award is open to young women investigators working in the cytokine, chemokine and interferon biology.

The rules for this ICIS award are the same as for the Milstein Young Investigator Award (see above) except for gender and the candidate must have received a Ph.D or M.D. degree within the previous 10 years.
The deadline to apply/nominate, for this award for 2020 was June 15, 2020.
The 2019 Christina Fleischmann Award to Young Women Investigators, Meike Dittmann, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology, New York University School of Medicine, New York, NY, USA
2018 Dr. Christina Fleischmann Award to Young Women Investigators presented to Sophia Davidson, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research, Parkville, Australia, by Bob Fleischmann in Boston at Cytokines 2018.
ICIS Awards Committee Chair, Bryan Williams (Left) presenting the 2017 Christina Fleischmann Award to Susan Carpenter (Center), with Session Chair, Keiko Ozato (Right)
Awards Committee Co-Chairs, Eleanor Fish and Jennifer Towne present the 2016 Christina Fleischmann Award to Michelle Tate.
ICIS Awards Committee Chair, Bryan Williams (L), 2018 Honorary Lifetime Membership Award Winner, Dr. William Robert Fleischmann, Jr, (C) and Awards Committee Co-Chair, Kate Fitgerald (R), presenting the Honorary Lifetime Membership Award Crystal to Dr. Fleischmann in Boston at Cytokines 2018.