Donations Accepted for the Amanda Proudfoot Tribute Award Fund

To honor Amanda Proudfoot and her scientific legacy the ICIS has establishing the Amanda Proudfoot Tribute Award for Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows whose research on chemokine biology has had an impact on the field early in his/her career.

Amanda E.I. Proudfoot (1949-2019)

Amanda Proudfoot is internationally recognized for her important contributions to the field of chemokine biology. Her research focused on the development of anti-inflammatory and anti-infective therapeutic agents and many of the advances in chemokine biology trace back to seminal discoveries made by her. Her group identified and characterized novel chemokines, including CXCL4 and CXCL8, and cloned the chemokine receptors CCR1, CCR2 and CCR4. She provided the first evidence that inhibition of HIV infection of primary macrophages could be achieved through inhibition of CCR5, leading to a new paradigm in the search for HIV inhibitors. Amanda’s research led to the elucidation of several important aspects of the immune system.

The ICIS Amanda Proudfoot Tribute Award

is bestowed on an individual whose research on chemokine biology has had an impact on the field early in his/her career. Graduate students and postdoctoral fellows are eligible for this Award. This annual award is presented at the annual ICIS Meeting.

ICIS welcomes donations to fund this Award, of which 100% is tax deductible and will be paid out to the award winners on an annual basis. To make your donation by Credit Card or PayPal, please click the DONATIONS TO THE AMANDA PROUDFOOT TRIBUTE AWARD Donate button above. The Society will send a Donation Acknowledgement letter upon receipt of your payment.
The International Cytokine and Interferon Society is incorporated as a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization and all donations to the Amanda Proudfoot Tribute Award fund are tax deductible. The ICIS Federal Tax ID # is: 59-2471233.

To be sent an invoice to pay by check in USD, or to have a donation acknowledgement letter sent to you, please fill out the form below:

[wpforms id="6222"]
Douglas Philip Dyer, PhD Sir Henry Dale Fellow Wellcome Centre for Cell-Matrix Research, University of Manchester, UK
Inaugural Inaugural Amanda Proudfoot Tribute Graduate Student/Postdoc Award for Advances in Chemokine Biology - Matteo Massara, University of Lausanne