Nomination Submission Deadline: April 20, 2021

Wiliam E. Paul, MD, (1936–2015)

The ICIS-Biolegend William E. Paul Award for Excellence in Cytokine Research is dedicated to William E. Paul, M.D., who died on September 18, 2015 at age 79. Dr. Paul’s extraordinary contributions to the field of cytokine research are best summarized by this paper published in the Journal of Immunology on December 15, 2015.

This award was established in 2016 and is given to an investigator that has made significant contributions to cytokine and interferon research throughout their career through the generosity of BioLegend.

The award consists of $2,500 and a crystal block with the 3 D structure of IL-4, the cytokine most associated with Dr. Paul’s research, as well as travel expense reimbursement to attend and present at the Annual Meeting.

The ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award represents the pinnacle of scientific achievement in cytokine research. The William E. Paul Award is bestowed upon a leading biomedical research scientist who has made outstanding contributions to cytokine research, either in a basic or applied field as demonstrated by publications, oral presentations and consistent scientific advancements in cytokine biology throughout their career, through the generosity of BioLegend. The awardee is selected by the ICIS Awards Committee based on nominations received from the international scientific community. The selection is based on strength and consistency throughout their career of cytokine research publications in peer reviewed journals, contributions to cytokine biology through the publication of reviews and book chapters, long term evidence of presenting their work on cytokine biology to the international community in oral presentations and leadership in the field as demonstrated by organization of cytokine biology meetings and chairing of sessions focused on cytokine biology at national/international meetings.

2020 ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award Winners

Sarah L. Gaffen, Ph.D. Gerald P. Rodnan Professor of Rheumatology Director of Basic Rheumatology Research University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine Department of Medicine, Division of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology Pittsburgh, USA
Vijay K. Kuchroo, DVM, PhD Samuel L. Wasserstrom Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School & Director, Evergrande Center for Immunologic Diseases Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, USA

ICIS-BioLegend William E. Paul Award Laureates from 2016 to 2019:

Richard Locksley, 2016 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Alan Sher, 2017 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Giorgio Trinchieri, 2018 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Chen Dong, 2019 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee
Session Chairs Weiping Jiang (L) and John O’Shea (R), awarding the 1st ICIS-BIOLEGEND BILL PAUL AWARD to Richard Locksley, UCSF, after his lecture, “New pathways in type 2 immunity” on Tuesday, 18 October, 2016.
From Left: Michelle Tate, Award winner, Alan Sher & Weiping Jiang from BioLegend. Awards Presentation at Cytokines 2017 in Kanazawa, Japan.
Dr. Trinchieri (middle) receives the 2018 BioLegend William E. Paul Award Crystal from ICIS Awards Committee Co-chairs Bryan Williams and Kate Fitzgerald. Cytokines 2018 Awards Presentation.
From Left: Bryan Williams, 2019 ICIS William E. Paul BioLegend Award winner, Chen Dong, Jie Zhou from BioLegend & Kate Fitzgerald. Awards Presentation at Cytokines 2019 in Vienna, Austria.