New as of 2021, according to the recent bylaws changes made.

Two new positions have been added to the ICIS Council, meant to be filled by students, postdocs, and other junior members rather than established members with the intention to strive fo equity and diversity in the composition of committees. Each year, one Council member for Inclusion and Training will be selected for a two-year term, with the goal of having two Council members for Inclusion and Training elected in alternating 2-year terms. Nominations for the Council members for Inclusion and Training will be selected by the Nominating Committee based on evidence of excellence in promoting diversity and inclusion awareness in science and their STEM communities and excellence in cytokine science.

Council members for Inclusion and Training will be voting members of the Council and are expected to create a diverse and inclusive young scientist-focused event for the annual meeting, and establish cytokine-related educational programs for outreach. They will benefit from leadership development by their colleagues on the Council who will seek their diverse perspective on organizational changes and program quality to enlarge our understanding of equity and inclusion, and directly support diverse points of view.

Nominating Committee

  • Paul Hertzog, Australia, Chair (2020-2022)
  • Thirumala-Devi Kanneganti, USA (2019-2021)
  • Claudia Nold, Australia (2021 – 2023) 
  • Leonidas C. Platanias , USA (2019 – 2021)
  • Nancy C. Reich Marshall, USA (2021 – 2023)
  • Andreas Wack, UK (2021 – 2023)