Deadline to submit an application or to nominate someone for one of the following ICIS Young Investigator Awards for Cytokines 2020 is 15 June 2020.

Milstein Young Investigator Awards:

ICIS members who have received a Ph.D or M.D. within the previous 10 years are eligible for this Award. Every year up to five awards are granted to individuals who have made notable contributions to either basic or clinical research. This award is provided by a generous gift of the Milstein Family. Award: $1,500 and an ICIS plaque.

The Christina Fleischmann Award to Young Women Investigators:

The rules for this ICIS award are the same as for the Milstein Young Investigator Award (see above) except for gender and the candidate must have received a PhD or MD degree  within the previous 10 years. This award is made possible through the generosity of  the Fleischmann Foundation and is dedicated to the memory of ISICR member and outstanding interferon research scientist Christina Fleischmann. This award is open to young  women investigators working in the cytokine, chemokine and interferon biology. The award is provided through a generous grant from the Fleischmann family, and a commemorative plaque. Award: $2,000 and an ICIS plaque.

Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate AND Post-Graduate Awards in Interferon & Cytokine Research:

The Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate and Post-Graduate Awards are targeted to graduate students and post-doctoral fellows who have begun to make an impact in interferon and cytokine research. The Awards were originally designed to fill the gap among the YI awards offered by the ICIS to more senior investigators—the Milstein Young Investigator Awards and the Christina Fleishmann Award. Candidates must be actively working in interferon/cytokine research but need not be ICIS members. Awards:Each award amounts to a $3500 cash award, $1500 travel grant, a $2500 PBL Assay Science product credit, a crystal plaque and a complementary one-year ICIS membership. These awards are sponsored by PBL Assay Science, but the awardees are chosen by the ICIS Awards Committee.

Young Investigator Award Submission Deadlines:

15 May, 2020: All the Young Investigator Awards (Milstein Young Investigator Awards, Christina Fleischmann Award and the Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate and Post-Graduate Awards). Winners of a Young Investigator Award must plan to register and attend the Annual Meeting, Cytokines 2020, in Seattle, and make an oral presentation based on work described in the YI Award Application. We highly recommend that all Young Investigator Award applicants also submit an abstract and apply for a Milstein Travel Award by the 1 June, 2020 abstract deadline in the event that this application is not accepted, thereby increasing the chance of receiving a travel award.

Young Investigator Awards are chosen by the ICIS Awards Committee based on the strength of the application. The Milstein Travel Awards are also chosen by the Awards Committee according to the abstract ratings assigned by the Cytokines 2020 Scientific Advisory Board.

ICIS members may either apply themselves or nominate other eligible members for Milstein Young Investigator Awards. An abbreviated CV (max. one page) and a letter of recommendation (including confirmation of eligibility) should be uploaded with the abstract.

Dr. Robert Fleischmann personally awarded Sophia Davidson, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute for Medical Research, Parkville, Australia the 2018 Christina Fleischmann Award at Cytokines 2018 in Boston.

Dr. Christina Fleischmann (deceased)

Dr. Robert Fleischmann receiving the ICIS Honorary Lifetime Membership Award at Cytokines 2018 in Boston.

The Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate and Post-Graduate Awards

This is an annual award, and a recipient may receive an award only once. However, an individual who receives the Graduate Award remains eligible for the Post-Graduate Award. In years where a suitable candidate is not identified, an award will not be bestowed.

2017 Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate Award

2016 Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate Award

2017 Sidney & Joan Pestka Post-Graduate Awards,

2016 Sidney & Joan Pestka Postgraduate Award

Milstein Travel Awards

Philip, Vivian and Connie Milstein

ICIS members who attend the annual meeting are eligible for Milstein Travel Awards. They are provided through a grant from the Milstein Family based on the scientific merit of the abstract.This award does not exempt payment of the conference registration fee. There are no age restrictions to this award. However, if both senior and junior members from the same laboratory apply for an award, preference is given to the junior member. This award is dependent on availability of funds.

Award: Applications are ranked based on scientific excellence and funds allocated based on Abstract ranking and distance to travel to the annual Meeting.

Application process:

  • The application is submitted through the Annual Meetings’ online abstract form.
  • Meeting Abstract required.
  • Deadline to submit is the same as the Abstract submission deadline 1 June 2020.

List of 2018 Milstein Travel Award Winners

List of 2017 Milstein Travel Award Winners

List of 2016 Milstein Travel Award Winners