Please use the online form to nominate a candidate for the 2018 Milstein Award.

Read More & Past Laureates

About the Milstein Awards              Milstein Award Laureates 1998 – 2017

For 28 years, the Milstein Awards have represented the pinnacle of scientific achievement in interferon and cytokine research and are conferred each year by the International Cytokine & Interferon Society (ICIS) at a special event during its annual meeting. The Milstein family—Vivian, her late husband Seymour, their son Philip and their daughter Connie—are well-known philanthropists in the United States and abroad. For more than 50 years they have provided essential support for institutions and organizations at a time when funds from government agencies have been drying up.The preeminent Seymour & Vivian Milstein Award for Excellence in Interferon and Cytokine Research, commonly known as The Milstein Award, recognizes individuals who have made exceptional contributions to interferon and cytokine research, either in a a basic or applied field. Many of these achievements have led to the advancement of human health. The Milstein family also supports The Milstein Young Investigator Awards to recognize the work of individuals who have made an impact on interferon and cytokine research early in their careers, and The Milstein Travel Awards to give those who may not otherwise be able to attend the Annual Meeting of the ICIS an opportunity to share the most current interferon and cytokine knowledge with peers from around the world.

Milstein Travel Awards

ICIS members who attend the annual meeting are eligible for Milstein Travel Awards. They are provided through a grant from the Milstein Family based on the scientific merit of the abstract.

This award does not exempt payment of the conference registration fee. There are no age restrictions to this award. However, if both senior and junior members from the same laboratory apply for an award, preference is given to the junior member. This award is dependent on availability of funds.

Award: Applications are ranked based on scientific excellence and funds allocated based on Abstract ranking and distance to travel to the annual Meeting.

Application process:

  • The application is submitted through the Annual Meetings’ online abstract form.
  • Meeting Abstract required.
  • Deadline to submit is the same as the Abstract submission deadline.

List of 2017 Milstein Travel Award Winners


ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Award for Excellence in Cytokine Research

This award is given to an investigator that has made significant contributions to cytokine and interferon research throughout their career. Through the generosity of BioLegend the award consists of $2500 and up to $2500 travel reimbursement to present an awards presentation at the Annual Meeting, and a crystal block with the 3 D structure of IL-4, the cytokine most associated with Dr. Paul’s research. Please use the online form to nominate a Candidate for the 2018 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Award.

2017 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee

2016 ICIS BioLegend William E. Paul Awardee

Honorary Life Membership Award

Nominations are solicited for Honorary Life Memberships in the ICIS. Each year an individual will be awarded Life Membership as a tribute to his/her contributions to the field. Nominees should be individuals who have made substantive contributions to the cytokine/chemokine/interferon field over much of their careers, either in basic, clinical or applied research. Honorary members are esteemed members of the Society and provide us with an historical perspective and valued research tradition. Honorary Life Members are accorded all rights and privileges of active members, are exempted from Society dues and are listed in the dedicated Honorary Life Members section of the Society web site. The winner(s) is elected by vote of the ICIS Council and will be an invited speaker(s) at the next ICIS meeting. Please use the online form to nominate a candidate for the 2018 Honorary Life Membership Award.

2017 Honorary Life Membership Awardee

2016 Honorary Life Membership Award

Distinguished Service Award

The ICIS will on occasion bestow this honor on an ICIS member who has made an extraordinary contribution to the Society. The individual will have devoted significant time and energy over a period of years to elevating the goals of the Society in furthering research on interferon, cytokines and chemokines. Nominations should be communicated to the Awards Committee of the ICIS. Please use the online form to nominate a candidate for the 2018 Distinguished Service Award.

2017 Distinguished Service Awardee

The Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate and Post-Graduate Awards for Excellence in Interferon and Cytokine Research Sponsored by PBL Assay Science

The Sidney & Joan Pestka Graduate and Post-Graduate Awards are targeted to graduate students and post-doctoral fellows who have begun to make an impact in interferon and cytokine research. The Awards were originally designed to fill the gap among the awards offered by the ICIS to more senior investigators—the Milstein Young Investigator Award, the Christina Fleishmann Award, Honorary Membership, and The Seymour and Vivian Milstein Award. Candidates must be actively working in interferon/cytokine research but need not be ICIS members.

The award includes a $3500 cash award, $1500 travel grant toward travel and registration to the Annual Cytokines Meeting, a $2500 PBL Assay Science product credit for each awardee, and a complementary one-year ICIS membership.  This is an annual award, and a recipient may receive an award only once. However, an individual who receives the Graduate Award remains eligible for the Post-Graduate Award. In years where a suitable candidate is not identified, an award will not be bestowed.

Applicants should submit a CV, a letter of support from their mentor, including confirmation of trainee status, and a statement of research and accomplishments. No proprietary or confidential information can be included in the application.

Please use the online form, using one form for each candidate for 2018 nominations. Candidates may be nominated for more than one award using the same form, but please use a separate form for each candidate.

Milstein Young Investigator Awards

ICIS members who have received a Ph.D or M.D. within the previous 10 years are eligible for this Award. Every year up to five awards are granted to individuals who have made notable contributions to either basic or clinical research. This award is provided by a generous gift of the Milstein Family.

Award: $1,000 – $1,500 and an ICIS plaque. The 1st ranked Awardee will be invited for an Oral presentation during the Meeting.

Application process:

  • The application is submitted online  through the Annual Meeting’s Online Abstract Form.

ICIS members may either apply themselves or nominate other eligible members for Milstein Young Investigator Awards. An abbreviated CV (max. one page) and a letter of recommendation (including confirmation of eligibility) should accompany the application.

2017 Milstein Young Investigator Award winners

2017 Milstein Young Investigator Awards

The rules for this ICIS award are the same as for the Milstein Young Investigator Award (see above) except for gender and the candidate must have received a Ph.D or M.D. degree  within the previous 10 years. This award is made possible through the generosity of  the Fleischmann Family Fund and is dedicated to the memory of ISICR member and outstanding interferon research scientist Christina Fleischmann. This award is open to young  women investigators working in the cytokine, chemokine and interferon biology.

2017 Dr. Christina Fleischmann Award Winner

2016 Dr. Christina Fleischmann Award Winner