2021 Call for Nominations for ICIS Council & Nominating Committee

Deadline to Submit Nomination Petitions: June 15, 2021

Dear ICIS Member,

We have two new Council positions for Inclusion and Training meant to be filled by students, postdocs, and other junior members rather than established members with  the intention to strive for equity and diversity in the composition of committees, who will be voting members of the Council. Please nominate, or self-nominate qualified ICIS members based on evidence of excellence in promoting diversity and inclusion awareness in science and their STEM communities and excellence in cytokine science. They will begin their 2-year terms this August and are expected to create a diverse and inclusive young scientist-focused event for the annual meeting, and establish cytokine-related educational programs for outreach. They will benefit from leadership development by their colleagues on the Council who will seek their diverse perspective on organizational changes and program quality to enlarge our understanding of equity and inclusion, and directly support diverse points of view.

Nominations are also open for the position of ICIS President-Elect for a 2-year term (followed by President from 2024-2026), ICIS Treasurer for 2-year term, two openings on the Council for 3-year terms, and two members for the Nominating Committee for 3 year terms beginning January, 2022. Please nominate individuals, including yourself, who are qualified and willing to serve. Nominees must be ICIS Members in good standing with evidence of relevant scientific activity in the field and involvement with the Society for at least 3 years.

If you know of any individuals, including yourself, who you believe are qualified to serve, please upload a petition June 15, 2021. Petitions must be signed by three Members and must contain a written statement by the nominee of willingness to serve. You are encouraged to nominate any of your fellow associates, as well as yourself. You may search the Member Directory, only visible to members, some members have opted out. Please note that the email we use to send you this message is your current ICIS Membership login.

All appropriate candidates will be placed on an electronic ballot for the membership on July 1, 2021, and the nominees with the most votes will be elected with the provision that representation from at least 3 countries is maintained in the elected Council membership.

Please use the online form and submit your nominations by June 15, 2021. All recommendations will be kept confidential.

Thank you,

Nominating Committee

Paul Hertzog, Australia, Chair (2020-2022)
Thirumala-Devi Kanneganti, USA (2019-2021)
Claudia Nold, Australia (2021 – 2023) 
Leonidas C. Platanias , USA (2019 – 2021)
Nancy C. Reich Marshall, USA (2021 – 2023)
Andreas Wack, UK (2021 – 2023)

Current Council (including those completing their terms at the end of this year):

President Katherine A. Fitzgerald, PhD, MRIA, (2019-2021)
President-Elect Christopher Hunter, BSc, PhD, (2019-2021)
Past-President Nancy C. Reich Marshall, PhD, (2019-2021)
Treasurer Dusan Bogunovic, PhD, (2020-2021)
Secretary Kate L. Jeffrey, PhD, (2021 – 2023)

Council Members:
Sarah Gaffen, PhD, (2019 – 2021)
Curt M. Horvath, PhD, (2021 – 2023)
Anne O’Garra, FRS, FMedSci, (2019 – 2021)
Thirumala-Devi Kanneganti, PhD, (2021 – 2023)

(Cytokines 2021 Chair), Simon A. Jones, PhD

Joan Oefner, Managing Director (ex-officio